Chakras explained


“Your Energy is worth more than any materialistic object. The greatest gift that you could give to others, as well as to yourself is your thoughts, intentions and energetic love. Use your energy to bless your loved ones.”

Chances are that if you’ve attended a yoga class, meditation sessions or a reiki class, you’ve probably heard this word. But for those of you who are new to this whole concept let me explain what Chakras are..

Literally, “chakra” from the Sanskrit translates to “wheel” or “disk,” it also references a spiritual “energy centre” in the human body, of which there are seven along the spine, and through the neck and the crown of your head.

As spiritual as these things seem, they’ve somewhat become a trend in the social media community, along with yoga and crystals. Fact is that they have been around since 500 BC, found in the Vedas (earliest Sanskrit literary records.)

“So what do they do?”

They are each linked to specific organs as well as physical, emotional, psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of your being and influence all areas of your life, through pure healing energy all around us as well as within us ( Olivia Fern )

Note: there isn’t much scientific evidence that translates spiritual energy into physical manifestations, the study of the seven chakras and chakra alignment—whether it be through meditation, reiki, or yoga—is rooted in the belief is that “when the chakras are open and aligned, our energy is constantly free-flowing ( Olivia Fern ).


So let me get on to explaining the 7 Chakras:

The Root Chakra:

What it is: (AKA first chakra) “the foundation of your house (your body)” —it’s solid, stabilizing, and supportive, keeping everything safely connected as long as it’s functioning properly. It’s associated with the base of the spine, the pelvic floor, and the first three vertebrae. This Chakra is responsible for an individual’s sense of security and survival.  Therefore, it’s closely linked to your basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety, as well as your more emotional needs such as alleviating fear and feeling safe. As you well know, when these needs are met, you tend to worry less.

When it’s blocked: A variety of afflictions can occur from blockages, including anxiety disorders, fears, or nightmares. Physically, the first chakra is associated with problems in the colon, the bladder, elimination, or with lower back, leg, or feet issues.


The Sacral Chakra:

What it is: This Chakra is located above the pubic bone and below the bellybutton, it’s responsible for our sexual and creative energies. It is associated with the colour orange and the element of water, when your sacral chakra is aligned, you will likely feel great: You’re friendly, passionate, and successfully fulfilled while experiencing the feelings of wellness, abundance, pleasure, and joy. (Sounds amazing to me, don’t you think?)

When it’s blocked: This usually happens when you have a creative block or your emotions are a tad bit unstable. Likewise, this can also be associated with physical sexual problems; you can also be experiencing fear of change, depression, or addictive behaviour.



The Solar Plexus Chakra:

What it is: The third is said to be your “Confidence Chakra” your very own source of individual power, your rule of confidence. It focuses on your willpower, personal power, and commitment.” Located from the belly button to about your ribcage, it reportedly controls

all things metabolic, digestive, and stomach-related.

When it’s blocked: You can suffer from lack of self-confidence, have difficulty making decisions, and may have anger or control issues. Note that it’s not just feeling badly about yourself, but also may lead you to outwardly express apathy, procrastination, or that you’re able to be taken advantage of easily. Likewise, you’ll also possibly have a tummy ache of some kind such as digestive issues or gas. (How awful.)


The Heart Chakra:

What it is: This is known as the central chakra, found at the centre of your chest, it represents where the physical self and the spiritual self-meet. It’s physically said to enclose the heart, the thymus gland (which plays a vital role in your endocrine and lymphatic system), the lungs, and the breasts. “It’s the awakening to spiritual awareness, forgiveness, and service,” says Olivia. This Chakra is associated with the colour green and pink (yes, the millennial, rose quartz kind), it’s believed that when your heart chakra is aligned and balanced, love and compassion flow freely. (Giving and receiving.)

When it’s blocked: A closed heart chakra can show signs of grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, and hatred toward yourself and others (remember this)—especially in the form of holding a grudge against something or someone.


The Throat Chakra:

What it is: This one is all about speaking your inner truth ( Finally ). The throat chakra rules all communication. The throat chakra is linked to the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, tongue, and larynx. When this chakra is in check, you’re able to fully listen as well as speak and express yourself clearly.

When it’s blocked:  You may struggle to speak your truth, you find it hard to pay attention and stay focused, or fear judgment from others. Physically, this blockage may cause a sore throat, thyroid issues, neck and shoulder stiffness, or tension headaches.




The Third-Eye Chakra:

What it is: You can find this Chakra located between your eyebrows. Organs including the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain are said to be controlled by the third eye.


When it’s blocked: You may have trouble clocking into your intuition, trusting your inner voice, remembering important facts, or learning new skills. A third-eye blockage is linked with depression, anxiety, and a more judgmental attitude—while physically, it’s said to cause headaches, dizziness, and a massive pot of other brain-health issues.




The Crown Chakra:

What it is: It’s known as the centre of enlightenment. As the name suggests, the seventh chakra located at the crown of your head. When aligned, you are said to notice pure awareness, consciousness. (Basically, bigger than yourself.)

When it’s blocked: A crown-chakra blockage may create feelings of isolation or emotional distress—basically feeling disconnected from everyone and everything. Or, you might feel like your normal self—just not in an exalted state of spiritual connection and enlightenment, which is totally okay and seriously normal. Unlike the other chakras, the crown chakra is often only opened up fully through specific yogic or meditative exercises.


Now that you have an understanding on what your different Chakras are, and what they affect when blocked, we need to learn how to balance and heal them.

Keep in mind to read our next blog post, out on 23rd May. 

Thats all from me.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *